The Warren Alpert Distinguished Scholar Awards

The Warren Alpert Distinguished Scholars Fellowship Award is closed at this time and will  re-open on July 1, 2022 and continue to November 1, 2022.

The Warren Alpert Distinguished Scholars program will support individual scientists of exceptional creativity who have an MD or PhD degree (or both) and who have completed a minimum of three years  of a post-doctoral fellowship by July 1, 2023 in the field of  neurosciences and hold a post-doctoral research position at a United States medical school, research institute or academic hospital.

These awards are given as a transitional post-doctoral award for recipients to enable their advance to a full-time faculty member at the Assistant Professor level or higher and/or to assist in the development of a laboratory program that would lead to independent funding. The medical school, research institute or academic hospital appointing the scholar will be awarded $200,000 annually for two years to cover their salary, lab costs, and related expenses.  Under certain circumstances, the awardee may transfer funding to support their faculty position.  Indirect cost of up to 15% of direct costs, may be included in the $200,000.  All applicants are required to provide 75% effort.

Congratulations to the 2021 Warren Alpert Distinguished Scholars

Dheeraj Roy, Ph.D.
Broad Institute, Inc.
view award details
Sara Prescott, Ph.D.
Harvard Medical School
view award details
Jiaxing Li, Ph.D.
Oregon Health & Science University
view award details
Qiliang He, Ph.D.
Georgia Tech Research Corporation
view award details
Ryoma Hattori, Ph.D.
University of California, San Diego
view award details
Oliver Harschnitz, MD, Ph.D.
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
view award details
Hyunglok Chung, Ph.D.
Baylor College of Medicine
view award details

Congratulations to the 2020 Warren Alpert Distinguished Scholars

Ni Feng
Yale School of Medicine
view award details
JiaBei Lin
University of Pennsylvania - Perelman School of Medicine
view award details
Tatsuo Okubo, PhD
Harvard Medical School
view award details
Maria De Los Angeles Serrano
University of Utah Medical School
view award details
Jason Vevea
University of Wisconsin - Madison School of Medicine & Public Health
view award details

The 2019 Warren Alpert Distinguished Scholars

Sinisa Hrvatin, Ph.D.
Harvard Medical School
view award details
Nhat T. Le, PhD
Boston University School of Medicine
view award details
Emilie Reas, PhD
University of California San Diego- School of Medicine
view award details
E. Javier López Soto, PhD
Brown University
view award details
Yvette Wong, PhD
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
view award details

How to Apply

The dean or chief academic research officer is invited to nominate one candidate. Scholars will be chosen on the basis of the success in their prior post-doctoral work as well as in the importance and creativity of their continued work. The Foundation expects to make five awards in 2023.

The Foundation will select recipients for awards using an objective and nondiscriminatory selection process based upon criteria including a review of each applicant’s scholastic achievements, academic records, scientific proposal and submitted letters of recommendation.

Please click here to fill out the Warren Alpert Foundation Distinguished Scholar Fellowship application according to the listed requirements.  You must submit all requirements electronically no later than November 1, 2022.

Note:  All inquiries and applications must be submitted by either the Dean, Chief Academic Research Officer or the Grant’s Administration office.

Awards are to be announced in March 2023.


Our Review Board

H. Robert Horvitz, PhD
Lennart Mucke, MD
Rachel Wilson, PhD
Karen Furie, MD
Joseph B. Martin, MD, PhD
Fred J. Schiffman, MD
Robert H. Brown, Jr.- D.Phil., M.D.
Barbara McNeil, MD, PhD